Athletics News

Hall of Fame Induction Slated for Jan. 25th

Jan. 15, 2014


Activities surrounding the University of Memphis M Club Hall of Fame inductions are set for Jan. 25 when the athletic department will induct four former student-athletes and recognize six other individuals for their contributions to Tigers athletics.

The event will take place in the Penny Hardaway Hall of Fame on the University of Memphis campus and begins at 6 p.m.

The 2014 Hall of Fame Class includes former Tiger and NFL football star Ken Irwin, Tigers women’s basketball All-American and WNBA great Tamika Whitmore, tennis standout and current Memphis women’s tennis coach Lee Taylor Walker and Tigers softball record-holder Jenna Kubesch-Raizes.

This year’s special award honorees are Rita Sparks, the recipient of the C.C. Humphreys Golden Tiger Award; Kenneth Lenoir, who will receive the Billy J. Murphy Award; John Vergos, Nick Vergos and Tina Vergos-Jennings, the family of the late Charles Vergos and the current owners of The Rendezvous Restaurant, who will be receiving the Ralph Hatley Silver M Award; and former Associate Athletic Director at the University of Memphis, Lynn Parkes, who will be presented the Murray Armstrong Award.

The inductees and honorees will also be introduced during halftime of the Tigers’ basketball game against USF on Jan. 26. 

Tables for the Hall of Fame induction are $400 or individual seats can be purchased for $50.

For further information concerning the weekend or to purchase tickets, contact the University of Memphis athletic ticket office at (901) 678-2331 or the M Club office at (901) 678-4878.

CLICK HERE for additional information about the Hall of Fame Class.

Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist