Jacob Wilson Earns C-USA Player of the Year Honors
Go Tigers! Jacob Wilson was named C-USA Player of the Year on Tuesday as voted on by league coaches, SIDs and media members
Go Tigers!
Jacob Wilson was named C-USA Player of the Year on Tuesday as voted on by league coaches, SIDs and media members
Go Tigers!

May 22, 2012

PEARL, Miss. - University of Memphis third baseman Jacob Wilson headlines four Tigers that earned Conference USA Postseason accolades as he was named the C-USA Player of the Year as announced by the league office on Tuesday.

Wilson is the second consecutive Tiger to be named Player of the Year in C-USA, following Chad Zurcher's selection last season. Wilson is batting .326 and he leads the league in home runs (16), total bases (134) and slugging percentage (.623) and is second with 62 RBI. The First Team All-Conference selection is tied for the team lead with 16 doubles has 23 multiple-hit games and 16 multiple-RBI games. Wilson, who had a league-best seven homers and 29 RBI in conference play, enters the C-USA Championship on a nine-game hitting streak.

Fellow senior Adam McClain joins Wilson on the First Team All-Conference list. McClain led the league with a .400 average and 86 base hits. The Memphis native swiped 13 bags on the season, one more than he had in his career entering his senior season. McClain has three home runs and 35 RBI on the season and had two or more hits in 28 hits.

Junior pitcher Dan Langfield was also named a First Team All-Conference selection. Langfield posted a league-best 104 strikeouts and fanned 30 via called third strikes. The Somerset, Mass., native had a 6-6 record on the season and a 2.84 ERA in 85.2 innings of work.

Southpaw Sam Moll rounds out the Tigers selections as he was a Second Team All-Conference selection. Moll pitched a team-high 88.1 innings and recorded a 2.03 ERA in league play. The Lakeland, Tenn., native collected four wins and a save on the year.

The Tigers four selections to the C-USA postseason awards ties for the most the program has earned in C-USA. Three first team selections are the most for the U of M since becoming a member of C-USA. Memphis had four selections in 2010 as well as 2007. Wilson is the second C-USA Player of the Year in program history and third player in program history to earn Player of the Year honors. Mark Little earned Great Midwest Player of the Year honors in 1994.

Memphis opens play in the 2012 Conference USA Baseball Championship presented by Trustmark against Southern Miss on Wednesday at 11 a.m.

2012 Conference USA Baseball Awards

Jacob Wilson, Memphis

Matthew Reckling, Rice

Mason Robbins, Southern Miss

Andrew Pierce, Southern Miss

Wayne Graham, Rice

IF - D.J. Hicks, UCF
IF - Christian Stringer, Rice
IF - Jacob Wilson, Memphis
IF - John Wooten, East Carolina
OF - Brandon Boudreaux, Tulane
OF - Adam McClain, Memphis
OF - Jeremy Rathjen, Rice
C - Jeremy Schaffer, Tulane
DH/UT - J.T. Chargois, Rice
P - Kevin Brandt, East Carolina
P - Dan Langfield, Memphis
P - Andrew Pierce, Southern Miss
P - Matthew Reckling, Rice
RP - Joe Rogers, UCF

IF - Ashley Graeter, Southern Miss
IF - Brennan Middleton, Tulane
IF - Travis Shreve, UCF
IF - Corey Thompson, East Carolina
OF - Alex Friedrich, UCF
OF - Ronnie Richardson, UCF
OF - Nick Schneeberger, Tulane
C - Zach Wright, East Carolina
DH/UT - Drew Reynolds, East Carolina
P - Jharel Cotton, East Carolina
P - Ben Lively, UCF
P - Sam Moll, Memphis
P - David Napoli, Tulane
RP - D.J. Ponder, Tulane

IF - Serion Leon, Marshall
IF - Ford Stainback, Rice
OF - Michael Pyeatt, Houston
OF - Jeff Schalk, UAB
OF - Michael Stirling, Southern Miss
OF/P - Mason Robbins, Southern Miss
P - Jeff Hoffman, East Carolina
P - Jordan Stephens, Rice
P - Jake Drehoff, Southern Miss
P - Bradley Roney, Southern Miss
P - Alex Massey, Tulane
P - Eric Skoglund, UCF 



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist