Douglas-Roberts Named To USBWA All-America First Team
Go Tigers! Chris Douglas-Roberts was named to the USBWA All-America first team.
Go Tigers!
Chris Douglas-Roberts was named to the USBWA All-America first team.
Go Tigers!

March 17, 2008

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Make it one more All-America honor for the University of Memphis' Chris Douglas-Roberts. On Monday, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) named the Tiger junior to its All-America first team, marking the fourth All-America squad honor he has received this postseason.

Douglas-Roberts is the first Tiger to earn USBWA All-America first team honors since Anfernee Hardaway did so in 1993. Last week, Douglas-Roberts was named to The Sporting News, Sports Illustrated and All-America first teams.

The 2007-08 Conference USA Player of the Year, Douglas-Roberts is in the running for three National Player of the Year awards - Wooden Award, Naismith Trophy and Oscar Robertson Trophy. The Detroit, Mich., native leads Memphis in scoring (17.3 ppg) and three-point field goal percentage (44.9), and is ranked among the conference leaders in scoring (6th), field goal percentage (7th) and three-point field goal percentage (2nd).

Douglas-Roberts, who was a 2007-08 All-C-USA first team pick, was named the USBWA District 4 Player of the Year and also selected to the USBWA All-District 4 Team. He earned NABC All-District 7 first team in early March.

The 6-foot-7 guard, who was a 2008 Conference USA All-Tournament Team selection, became the 43rd Tiger in the program's history to score 1,000 points in a career earlier this year, and is in the No. 13 spot on the Memphis all-time scoring list with 1,405 points. He was named Conference USA Player of the Week three times in 2007-08.

Joining Douglas-Roberts on the USBWA All-America first team were North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough, Kansas State's Michael Beasley, UCLA's Kevin Love and Texas' D.J. Augustin. On the USBWA All-America second team were Vanderbilt's Shan Foster, Notre Dame's Luke Harandogy, Tennessee's Chris Lofton, Connecticut's A.J. Price and Indiana's D.J. White.



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist