Stephens Named To Defensive All-America Team
Go Tigers! D.J. Stephens was named to the Defensive All-America Team on Tuesday.
Go Tigers!
D.J. Stephens was named to the Defensive All-America Team on Tuesday.
Go Tigers!

April 2, 2013

BOSTON, Mass. - University of Memphis' D.J. Stephens has been named to the Driesell Defensive All-America Team, the college basketball website announced Tuesday.

It is the third postseason honor for Stephens, as he earned the Conference USA Defensive Player of the Year award in addition to an All-C-USA third team accolade.

Stephens led the Tigers and Conference USA in blocked shots at 2.6 swats per game. His 95 total blocks are the fourth-most for a single season in school history. Stephens blocked a career-high eight shots in Memphis' 54-52 NCAA Tournament second-round victory over Saint Mary's Mar. 21.

The Killeen, Texas, native also led the team in rebounding (6.6 rpg) and field goal percentage (.629). He ranked among the C-USA leaders in rebounding (12th).

The 6-foot-5 forward posted three double-doubles and six double-figure rebounding games in 2012-13. Stephens, the 2011-12 Intersport Dunks of the Year champion, went over 100 dunks for his career this season and finished with 124 slams.

Stephens helped lead the Tigers to a 31-5 overall record and a perfect 16-0 Conference USA mark. Memphis swept the Conference USA regular season and tournament titles and earned an NCAA Tournament berth, advancing to the "Big Dance's" third round.

Joining Stephens on the Driesell Defensive All-America Team are: UNLV's Khem Birch, Stony Brook's Tommy Brenton, Montana's Will Cherry, Belmont's Ian Clark, Ohio State's Aaron Craft, Louisville's Gorgui Dieng, Virginia's Jontel Evans, Akron's Zeke Marshall, Kentucky's Nerlens Noel, St. John's Chris Obekpa, Indiana's Victor Oladipo, Alabama's Trevor Releford, Colorado's André Roberson, Oklahoma State's Marcus Smart, Florida State's Michael Snaer, VCU's Darius Theus, UTEP's Julian Washburn, Kansas' Jeff Withey and Miami's Shane Larkin and Durand Scott.

The Defensive All-America Team is named in honor of coaching legend Lefty Driesell, who is the only person to win 100 games at four different NCAA Division I schools (Davidson, Maryland, James Madison, Georgia State). He is best known for his time at Maryland, leading the Terrapins to the 1972 National Invitational Tournament (NIT) title and 1984 ACC Tournament championship. He finished his career at Maryland with a 348-159 record and concluded his career with an impressive 786-394 mark.



The 2013 Lefty Driesell Award will be presented to the nation's top defensive player Friday, Apr. 5 at the awards banquet in Atlanta, the site of the NCAA Final Four.
Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist