Hornsey Named to Ray Guy Award Watch List

July 10, 2013

Hornsey Ray Guy Watch List

Tom Hornsey, who has raised his numbers each of his past three seasons as the University of Memphis’ punter and averaged 43.4 yards per punt last season, has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2013 Ray Guy Award. The honor annually recognizes the nation’s top collegiate punter.

The 25 candidates on the list announced Wednesday incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. The list includes four semifinalists from last year.

Last year, Hornsey’s punting average ranked 19th nationally. In 2012, He placed 25 of his 60 punts inside opponents’ 20-yard line (42 percent). Of the 25 punts inside opponents’ 20, 15 of those punts were downed inside the 10 including eight inside the five.

For his career, the native of Gelong, Australia, has averaged 42.62 yards punting. He has placed 72 of his punts inside opponents’ 20-yard line during his career (31 percent) while 55 of his punts have been 50+ yards. Only eight of his 235 career punts have ended in the end zone for touchbacks.

He ranks second among active NCAA Bowl Subdivision punters in career punts (235) and first in career punting yards (10,015).

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on Oct. 25. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists who will be announced on Nov. 8.

A national body of FBS sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists to be announced Nov. 25. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards, airing on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 12.

2013 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List

  • Steven Clark (Sr.), Auburn 
  • Pat O’Donnell (Gr.), Miami (Fl.) 
  • Darragh O’Neill (Jr.), Colorado 
  • Will Monday (So.), Duke 
  • Trent Tignor (Sr.), East Carolina 
  • Kyle Christy (Jr.), Florida 
  • Richie Leone (Sr.), Houston 
  • Justin DuVernois (Jr.), Illinois 
  • Kirby Van Der Kamp (Jr.), Iowa State 
  • Anthony Melchiori (So.), Kent State 
  • Landon Foster (So.), Kentucky 
  • Tyler Williams (So.), Marshall 
  • Colter Johnson (Sr.), Massachusetts 
  • Tom Hornsey (Sr.), Memphis 
  • Mike Sadler (Jr.), Michigan State 
  • Ben Skaer (Sr.), New Mexico 
  • Cayle Chapman-Brown (Sr.), New Mexico State 
  • Thomas Hibbard (Jr.), North Carolina 
  • Keith Kostol (Jr.), Oregon State 
  • Cody Webster (Sr.), Purdue 
  • Harrison Waid (Sr.), San Jose State 
  • Mike Loftus (Jr.), SMU 
  • Ethan Perry (So.), TCU 
  • Hunter Mullins (Jr.), UAB 
  • Michael Bowlin (Sr.), Washington State

Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community. To learn more, visit AugustaSportsCouncil.org.

National College Football Awards Association
The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist