Ifedi on Nagurski Trophy Watch List

July 10, 2014


Memphis senior defensive end Martin Ifedi has been included on the initial watch list for the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy. The trophy is presented annually to the best defensive player in America.

A total of 81 student-athletes including 23 defensive ends are on the initial watch list for the Trophy. Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season.

The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2014 Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The FWAA has named a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Hall of Fames.

Earlier this week Ifedi was named to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, named in honor of the College and Pro Football Hall of Famer who played collegiately at Penn and was the first draft pick of the 1949 NFL Draft, selected by the Philadelphia Eagles.

Ifedi is coming off a junior season in which he recorded 52 total tackles including 14.5 tackles for loss and 11.5 quarterback sacks.

The Houston native has begun post-graduate studies after earning his bachelor’s degree from the University of Memphis in May. This spring he received the Zach Curlin Award, given annually to Memphis’ top male student-athlete.

On Monday the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) began unveiling its preseason watch lists. The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. A total of 15 watch lists are being announced over a 12-day span.

Memphis sophomore place-kicker Jake Elliott was named to the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award watch list on Wednesday. 



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist