American Athletic Conference Teams Converge for Media Kickoff

July 28, 2014


NEWPORT, R.I. - Following a traditional New England clam bake to welcome teams here Monday evening, representatives from member American Athletic Conference schools will have an opportunity on Tuesday to speak about their football programs as the conference holds its annual Media Day.

Along with Memphis head coach Justin Fuente, in Newport for the event are Memphis senior running back Brandon Hayes and senior cornerback Bobby McCain. The trio will take part in a series of interview sessions on Tuesday with ESPN3 carrying some of the event live during a two-hour window from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Central Time.

The show will feature interviews with commissioner Mike Aresco and all 11 head coaches of the conference which adds East Carolina, Tulane and Tulsa in 2014. John Rooke and Anthony Becht co-host this year's show. Click Here to view the ESPN3 program link.

The Memphis segment on ESPN3 is expected to air at 11:30 a.m. on Tuesday.

Fuente will also spend time at the podium of the Grand Ballroom of the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Newport taking questions from media in attendance, and along with the players, will be available during an hour-and-a-half breakout session for individual interviews.

The Memphis contingent will also spend time with CBS Sports Network, which will broadcast a game-of-the-week throughout the season, as well as take part in an interview segment which will be part of a satellite-distributed media package.

Memphis' student-athletes arrived on Monday and following a photo shoot with CBS Sports Network, enjoyed New England hospitality which included a dinner featuring lobster and clams.

The Tigers open the 2014 season on Aug. 30th when they play host to Austin Peay. Memphis' league opener is Oct. 4 on the road at Cincinnati.

ESPN3 Live Show - Tuesday, July 29 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Live Show Schedule:
11 AM - Commissioner Mike Aresco
11:10 AM - SMU Coach June Jones
11:20 AM - UCF Coach George O'Leary
11:30 AM - Memphis Coach Justin Fuente
11:40 AM - Cincinnati Coach Tommy Tuberville
11:50 AM - Houston Coach Tony Levine
12:00 PM - Temple Coach Matt Rhule
12:10 PM - USF Coach Willie Taggart
12:20 PM - UConn Coach Bob Diaco
12:30 PM - Tulsa Coach Bill Blankenship
12:40 PM - ECU Coach Ruffin McNeill
12:50 PM - Tulane Coach Curtis Johnson


Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist