Brad Paul Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List
Go Tigers!
Head coach Larry Porter and Iron Tiger Award winner Brad Paul.

Go Tigers!
Head coach Larry Porter and Iron Tiger Award winner Brad Paul.
Go Tigers!

Aug. 26, 2010


MEMPHIS, Tenn. - Senior center Brad Paul was named to the 2010 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List, as announced by the Rimington Trophy Committee on Thursday.

Paul, a 2009 Spring Iron Tiger, is one of five returning starters from a 2009 offensive line that cleared the way for running back Curtis Steele to rush for over 1,200 yards and 15 touchdowns. Paul started 11 of 12 contests throughout the 2009 campaign, missing only the UAB game due to injury.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division 1-A (FBS) football. The 2010 Fall Watch List includes 16 returners from the 2009 list and will be awarded at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 15, 2011.

In all, there are 37 student-athletes representing 11 conferences, with Paul serving as the only Conference USA representative.



The 2010 Tiger defensive line will become familiar with two of the Rimington Award watch list honorees throughout the season as they face Mississippi State’s J.C. Brignone and Louisville’s Mario Benavides.

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner: the American Football Coaches Association, the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and the Football Writers Association of America.

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist