Karam Named Finalist for Wuerffel Trophy

Nov. 11, 2013

J. Karam

The All Sports Association, Inc. announced Monday the 12 finalists for the 2013 Wuerffel Trophy, the national award that honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

Memphis senior quarterback Jacob Karam is one of 12 finalists for the award.

Earlier this football season Karam was named to the Allstate AFCA Good Hands Team and was a semifinalist for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy.

Karam's focus and passion off the field has been working with children.

He often plays piano for young patients of St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital at Target House, a residence for patients and their families. A video of Karam playing piano with St. Jude's patient Breanna Bercegeay went viral this summer.

A transfer from Texas Tech University who graduated in December 2011, Karam is completing work this semester towards a Master's of Arts in Liberal Studies degree from the University of Memphis. He carries a 3.71 cumulative grade point average.

Karam is a finalist for the award is named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries in New Orleans and around the country.

"Once again we have an outstanding group of nominees and finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy," commented All Sports President Kevin Locht. "Each one embodies the spirit of the Wuerffel Trophy in their own unique way, putting others before themselves.  It makes me proud to know that we have so many students out there with strong values and who aren't afraid to demonstrate those values each and every day," Locht added.

The finalists, who were nominated by their schools' sports information directors or football liaisons, are (listed alphabetically by university):

  • Hayden Tippett, Senior - Army - Fullback
  • Dave Harding, Senior - Duke - Offensive Line
  • Aaron Murray, Senior - Georgia - Quarterback
  • Will Jackson, Senior - Georgia Tech - Offensive Line
  • Nathan Scheelhaase, Senior - Illinois - Quarterback
  • James Morris, Senior - Iowa - Linebacker
  • Jacob Karam, Senior - Memphis - Quarterback
  • Chris Hawthorne, Senior - Minnesota - Placekicker
  • Gabe Ikard, Senior - Oklahoma - Offensive Line
  • Ryan Alderman, Senior - Temple - Wide Receiver
  • Eric Soza, Senior - Texas-San Antonio - Quarterback
  • Carey Spear, Senior - Vanderbilt - Placekicker

A committee that includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be announced on December 10.

"Once again, I'm amazed as I look at this year's finalists. All these young men are truly remarkable and I am honored to have them representing the trophy named after me," said Danny Wuerffel.

Past Winners of the award are: 2005-Rudy Niswanger / LSU; 2006-Joel Penton / Ohio State; 2007/Paul Smith-Tulsa; 2008/Tim Tebow-Florida; 2009-Tim Hiller/Western Michigan, 2010-Sam Acho/Texas; 2011-Barrett Jones/Alabama and 2012-Matt Barkley/USC

The 2013 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association's 45th Annual Awards Banquet on Friday, February 7, 2014.

For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, contact Tom Brassell at (850) 585-5512 or visit www.wuerffeltrophy.org.



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist