Four Tigers Selected to C-USA Coaches' All-Conference Teams
Go Tigers! Senior offensive lineman Brandon Pearce is one of two Tigers named to the 2008 C-USA All-Conference first team.
Go Tigers!
Senior offensive lineman Brandon Pearce is one of two Tigers named to the 2008 C-USA All-Conference first team.
Go Tigers!

Dec. 9, 2008

IRVING, Texas - Four University of Memphis football players earned Conference USA All-Conference honors on Tuesday, as selected by the league's 12 head football coaches.

Senior offensive lineman Brandon Pearce and senior defensive lineman Clinton McDonald were both named to the first team, while junior running back Curtis Steele earned second-team accolades. Freshman offensive lineman Ronald Leary is the team's lone representative on the All-Freshman team.

Pearce has started the last 45 straight games for the Tigers. He was on the Lombardi Award Watch List this season, and was a semifinalist for the Draddy Trophy, which is considered as the "Academic Heisman." Pearce has worked 834 of the 912 offensive plays this year. The Memphis native has been instrumental in the Tigers ranking 19th nationally in rushing offense and 22nd in total offense. The Tiger O-line ranks second in C-USA in sack denial, having only given way to 16 in 12 games. Pearce was an honorable mention All-Conference pick in 2007 and earned third-team recognition in 2006.

McDonald ranks third in the league in sacks per game and ranks 30th nationally with seven in 10 games. His four sack performance against Arkansas State ranks tied for the highest total in the NCAA this season and helped him earn C-USA Defensive Player of the Week. The Jacksonville, Ark., native was on the preseason Lombardi Award Watch List. He has played in 10 of 12 games with nine starts at defensive tackle and totals 35 tackles and 7.5 tackles for loss. McDonald was an honorable mention All-Conference pick in 2007.

Steele leads the Tigers in rushing with 1,175 yards and seven touchdowns on 206 carries. He logged his sixth 100-yard rushing game with his 135-yard effort versus Tulane. Steele ranks fourth all-time in single-season yardage and is the first Tiger to rush for over 1,000 yards since DeAngelo Williams did so in 2005. The Franklin, Tenn., native is averaging 97.92 rushing yards in 12 games and has averaged 112.2 yards in his last nine contests.



Leary served as a key backup at right and left tackle on the offensive line for the Tigers. The redshirt freshman saw his first collegiate action against UAB and served as a key replacement for Pearce and senior Cody Stubblefield. Leary has played in every game since his debut, logging 139 offensive snaps in seven games. The Baton Rouge, La., native helped the O-Line rank second in the league in fewest sacks allowed with 16 in 12 games.

Additionally, eight Tigers earned All-Conference Honorable Mention. Senior offensive lineman Philip Beliles, senior wide receiver Maurice Jones and junior wide receiver Carlos Singleton were selected on the offense, while junior linebacker Greg Jackson, junior defensive back D.A. Griffin and junior defensive back Alton Starr were named on the defensive side. Senior punter Brent Sutherland and sophomore long snapper Keenan Bratcher also earned honorable mention on special teams.



Quarterback - Chase Clement, Sr., Rice
Running Back- Damion Fletcher, Jr., Southern Miss
Running Back- Tarrion Adams, Sr., Tulsa
Offensive Lineman- Sebastian Vollmer, Sr., Houston
Offensive Lineman- Brandon Pearce, Sr., Memphis

Offensive Linemen- Troy Kropog, Sr., Tulane
Offensive Lineman - Justin Morsey, Sr., Tulsa
Offensive Lineman- Robby Felix, Jr, UTEP
Tight End- James Casey, So., Rice
Wide Receiver- Jarett Dillard, Sr., Rice
Wide Receiver- DeAndre Brown, Fr., Southern Miss
Wide Receiver- Brennan Marion, Sr., Tulsa

Defensive Lineman- Phillip Hunt, Sr., Houston
Defensive Lineman- C.J. Wilson, Jr., East Carolina
Defensive Lineman- Albert McClellan, Jr., Marshall
Defensive Lineman- Clinton McDonald, Sr., Memphis
Linebacker- Gerald McRath, Jr., Southern Miss
Linebacker- Joe Henderson, Sr., UAB
Linebacker- Adam Vincent, Sr., UTEP
Defensive Back- Van Eskridge, Jr., East Carolina
Defensive Back- Kevin Sanders, Sr., UAB
Defensive Back- Sha'Reff Rashad, Sr., UCF
Defensive Back- Joe Burnett, Sr., UCF

Placekicker- Jose Martinez, Jr., UTEP
Punter- Swayze Waters, Sr., UAB
Kick Returner- Jor Burnett, Sr., UCF
Punt Returner- Joe Burnett, Sr., UCF
Long Snapper- Craig Gelhardt, Sr., Tulane


Quarterback - Case Keenum, So., Houston
Running Back- Darius Marshall, So., Marshall
Running Back- Curtis Steele, Jr., Memphis
Offensive Lineman- Sean Allen, Jr., East Carolina
Offensive Lineman- Brian Leggett, Sr., Marshall
Offensive Lineman- David Berken, Sr., Rice
Offensive Lineman- Pat Brown, Sr., UCF
Offensive Lineman- Ryan McKee, Sr., Southern Miss
Tight End- Mark Hafner, Sr., Houston
Wide Receiver- Tyron Carrier, Fr., Houston
Wide Receiver- Darius Passmore, Sr., Marshall
Wide Receiver- Emmanuel Sanders, Jr., SMU

Defensive Lineman- Anthony Gray, So., Southern Miss
Defensive Lineman- Moton Hopkins, Sr., Tulsa
Defensive Lineman- Bruce Miller, So., UCF
Defensive Lineman- Torrell Troup, Jr., UCF
Linebacker- Pierre Bell, Sr., East Carolina
Linebacker- Maurice Kitchens, Sr., Marshall
Linebacker- Brian Raines, Sr., Rice
Defensive Back- Kenneth Fontenette, Sr., Houston
Defensive Back- C.J. Spillman, Sr., Marshall
Defensive Back- James Lockett, Jr., Tulsa
Defensive Back- Eddie Hicks, Jr., Southern Miss

Placekicker- Swayze Waters, Sr., UAB
Punter- Ross Thevenot, Jr., Tulane
Kick Returner - Damaris Johnson, Fr., Tulsa
Punt Returner- Josh Ferguson, Sr., UTEP
Long Snapper- Jeff Hamby, Sr., UAB


Quarterback - Austin Davis, Southern Miss
Running Back- Bryce Beall, Houston
Running Back - Brynn Harvey, UCF
Offensive Lineman- Chris Thompson, Houston
Offensive Lineman- C.J. Wood, Marshall
Offensive Lineman- Ronald Leary, Memphis
Offensive Lineman- Tyler Holmes, Tulsa
Wide Receiver- Tyron Carrier, Houston
Wide Receiver- DeAndre Brown, Southern Miss
Wide Receiver- Damaris Johnson, Tulsa

Defensive Lineman- Terrance Pope, Southern Miss
Defensive Lineman- Arnaud Gascon-Nadon, Rice
Defensive Lineman- Deddrick Jones, Southern Miss
Defensive Lineman- Bernard Obi, UTEP
Linebacker- Marcus McGraw, Houston
Linebacker- Korey Williams, Southern Miss
Linebacker- Jamie Irving, UTEP
Defensive Back- Emmanuel Davis, East Carolina
Defensive Back- DeQuan Bembry, Marshall
Defensive Back- Travis Bradshaw, Rice
Defensive Back- DeAundre Brown, Tulsa

Placekicker- Tyler Warner, Marshall
Punter - Kyle Martens, Rice
Kick Returner- Tyron Carrier, Houston
Punt Returner- Tyron Carrier, Houston
Long Snapper - Charley Hughlett, UCF

Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist