Guy to Present College Punter of the Year Award

Dec. 9, 2013

T. Hornsey

Presenters for this year’s The Home Depot College Football Awards – live Thursday at 6 p.m. Central Time on ESPN – will include college football and NFL icon Ray Guy, the namesake of the Punter of the Year Award.

Tom Hornsey, who this past week concluded his four-year playing career as the University of Memphis’ punter, is one of three finalists for the Ray Guy Punter of the Year Award which will be presented during the two-hour show live from the Walt Disney World Resort.

Hornsey finished his senior season with a 45.2 punting average which ranks eighth nationally. His ability to place 25 punts inside opponents’ 20-yard line while placing only four punts in the endzone for touchbacks as well as limiting opponents to just 18 returns for 133 total return yards (55 total punts) played a major role in the Tigers being ranked fourth nationally in net punting at 41.02 yards per punt.

The other two finalists for the Ray Guy Award are Texas A&M’s Drew Kaser and Purdue’s Cody Webster.

Six College Football Hall of Fame inductees along with six past award show recipients will be among the presenters for Thursday’s event.

Guy, who played collegiately at the University of Southern Mississippi, was the first pure punter to be drafted in the first round of the NFL Draft when the Oakland Raiders selected him with the 23rd overall pick in 1973.

Guy was a unanimous All-American selection in 1972 at Southern Miss and went on to have a 14-year career in the NFL. He was a six-time All-Pro selection and won three Super Bowls with the Raiders. He was named the punter on the National Football League’s 75th Anniversary Team.

On Thursday, nine National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) player awards will be presented – The Chuck Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year); Biletnikoff Award (Nation’s Outstanding College Receiver); Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award (Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker); Ray Guy Award; Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year); Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award; Outland Trophy (Nation’s Most Oustanding Interior Lineman); Jim Thorpe Award (Nation’s Best Defensive Back) and the Doak Walker Award (Nation’s Premier Running Back).

Also on Thursday, the NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award and the Disney Spirit Award will be presented. Also student-athletes slected to the Walter Camp All-America Team and The Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams will be announced.



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist