Poe Named Honorable Mention To Pro Football Weekly All-America Team
Go Tigers! Dontari Poe
Go Tigers!
Dontari Poe
Go Tigers!

Dec. 12, 2011


Junior defensive lineman Dontari Poe was named to the Pro Football Weekly All-America Team as an honorable mention pick as released by the publication Monday.

Poe, who was named last week to the All-Conference USA second team, started all 12 games on the defensive line this season, and has made 30 starts for the Tigers during his three-year career. He tallied 33 tackles, including 18 solo stops, and was third on the team in TFL with eight for minus 26 yards in 2011. Poe also posted a sack, three pass breakups, five quarterback hurries and one forced fumble. He matched his career high in tackles with eight against Marshall. At the team’s post-season banquet, he was named an MVP as well as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Poe and Marshall’s defensive end Vinny Curry were the only two Conference USA players listed on the Pro Football Weekly All-America Team. Curry was also an honorable mention pick.

PFW’s All-America team annually honors the most talented players in college football and is determined based on considerable feedback from NFL evaluators taking into consideration a player’s pure talent and contribution to his team. Unlike many other teams rewarding the best college football players, PFW places an extra premium on true talent and draft value in the selection process. However, participants are expected to have contributed for the bulk of the season, leaving off some talented prospects who were limited this season. Extra attention was paid to qualities such as toughness, competitiveness and work ethic.

Editor’s note: Juniors are marked by one asterisk (*), draft-eligible sophomores have two (**), true sophomores have three (***) and freshmen have four (****).

Andrew Luck, Stanford*
Honorable mention
Matt Barkley, USC*
Robert Griffin III, Baylor*



Running back
Trent Richardson, Alabama*
Honorable mention
Montee Ball, Wisconsin*
David Wilson, Virginia Tech*

Jay Prosch, Illinois***
Honorable mention
Braden Wilson, Kansas State*

Wide receivers
Sammy Watkins, Clemson****
Kendall Wright, Baylor
Honorable mention
Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State*
Michael Floyd, Notre Dame
Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina*
Marvin McNutt, Iowa

Tight end
Coby Fleener, Stanford
Honorable mention
Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame*
Dwayne Allen, Clemson*

Offensive tackles
Matt Kalil, USC*
Riley Reiff, Iowa*
Honorable mention
Barrett Jones, Alabama*
Taylor Lewan, Michigan**
Zebrie Sanders, Florida State
Cordy Glenn, Georgia

Offensive guards
David DeCastro, Stanford
Kevin Zeitler, Wisconsin
Honorable mention
Chance Warmack, Alabama*
Alvin Bailey, Arkansas**

Peter Konz, Wisconsin*
Honorable mention
David Molk, Michigan
Ben Jones, Georgia

Defensive Ends
Sam Montgomery, LSU**
Melvin Ingram, South Carolina
Honorable mention
Whitney Mercilus, Illinois*
Barkevious Mingo, LSU**
Vinny Curry, Marshall
Ronnell Lewis, Oklahoma*

Defensive tackles
Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State*
Devon Still, Penn State
Honorable mention
Michael Brockers, LSU**
Brandon Thompson, Clemson
Josh Chapman, Alabama
Dontari Poe, Memphis*

Inside linebacker
Dont'a Hightower, Alabama*
Honorable mention
Luke Kuechly, Boston College*
Lavonte David, Nebraska

Outside linebackers
Courtney Upshaw, Alabama
Jarvis Jones, Georgia**
Honorable mention
Gerald Hodges, Penn State*
Sean Spence, Miami (Fla.)

Morris Claiborne, LSU*
Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama*
Honorable mention
Tyrann Mathieu, LSU***
Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State**
Leonard Johnson, Iowa State
David Amerson, North Carolina State***

Mark Barron, Alabama
T.J. McDonald, USC*
Honorable mention
Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State
Bacarri Rambo, Georgia*
Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma***
John Boyett, Oregon*

Randy Bullock, Texas A&M
Honorable mention
Caleb Sturgis, Florida*

Steven Clark, Auburn***
Honorable mention
Brad Wing, LSU****

Return specialist
Joe Adams, Arkansas
Honorable mention
Taveon Rogers, New Mexico State*

Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist