Thomas Perrot Named to C-USA All-Freshman Team
Go Tigers! Thomas Perrot was one of five golfers named to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team.
Go Tigers!
Thomas Perrot was one of five golfers named to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team.
Go Tigers!

April 30, 2013

IRVING, Texas - University of Memphis men's golfer Thomas Perrot was one of five individuals named to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team, the league office announced Tuesday morning.

A native of Paris, France, Perrot joined the Tigers at the beginning of the semester, and has made an immediate impact for the team by competing in all seven tournaments this spring. He is second on the team with a 74.3 scoring average and has two top-20 finishes this season. His best finish came at the Louisiana Classics in early March after tying for seventh with a season-best even par 216. In his second tournament as a Tiger, Perrot tied for 11th at the Mobile Bay Intercollegiate, where he carded his lowest round of the year with two 70s to help Memphis finish in front of three top-50 teams.

"I'm very proud of Thomas," said head coach Grant Robbins. "After arriving in January, he adjusted very quickly and has made an impact on our team. He just needs to keep working hard and improving because he has a chance to be a special player."

Perrot becomes the fifth Tiger golfer to be named to the C-USA All-Freshman Team, joining Keven Fortin-Simard (2005), Carlson Cox (2010), Lexus Keoninh (2010) and Grant Milner (2011) as the only Tigers to have received the honor.

The Tigers will find out Monday, May 6 at 8 p.m. CT if they will receive an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. The Tigers are currently ranked No. 62 in Golfstat and No. 67 in Golfweek. Memphis has advanced to postseason play in three of the last five years, including an appearance in the NCAA Championships in 2012.

Golfer of the Year: Greg Eason, UCF
Freshman of the Year: Bryson Dechambeau, SMU
Newcomer of the Year: Mario Clemens, SMU
Coach of the Year: Jonathan Dismuke, Houston

All-Conference First Team
^Curtis Reed, Houston
#Roman Robledo, Houston
Nathan Kerns, Marshall
Bryson Dechambeau, SMU
*^Greg Eason, UCF

All-Conference Second Team
Wesley McClain, Houston
Mario Clemens, SMU
Austin Smotherman, SMU
Logan McCracken, Tulsa
+Chris Worrell, Tulsa

All-Freshman Team
Vincent Martino, Houston
Thomas Perrot, Memphis
Bryson Dechambeau, SMU
David Lee, SMU
Austin Smotherman, SMU

* 2012, 2011 All-C-USA Second Team; # 2012 All-Freshman Team; ^ 2011 All-Freshman Team; +2010 All-Freshman Team



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist