Men's Soccer Places Two on MAC's Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug 20, 2013

M. Sherrod

MEMPHIS, Tenn. - Senior midfielder Liam Collins and senior forward Mark Sherrod have been named to the 2013 Missouri Athletic Club's Men's Hermann Trophy Watch List, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced Tuesday.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to the top male player in NCAA Division I soccer.

As one of only seven midfielders nominated, Collins earns his second consecutive selection to the Hermann Trophy Watch List (2012) and is one of three Tigers to earn this honor (Dayton O'Brien, Mark Sherrod). Through three seasons, Collins ranks second in program history in assists with 24. In 2012, Collins finished fourth in Conference USA in assists with seven, after leading the conference in 2011 with 11 helpers. Collins was an All-Conference USA First Team selection in both 2011 and 2012. Collins has started in 52 games during his first three seasons at Memphis.

Sherrod earns a spot on the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List for the third consecutive season. He was a semifinalist for the award in 2011, becoming the first Tiger to make the top 15. As his senior season begins, Sherrod currently ranks fifth in program history in goals with 35 (Morton Akerfors- 49) and sits in a tie for sixth in career points with 80 (Sean Fraser-109).

He became just the second player in Conference USA history to be named the Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year in two different seasons, winning the award in 2011 and 2012. In 2011, he set the single-season record for goals with 19, and was named the Conference USA Player of the Year and an NSCAA All-America Third Team selection.

"It's fitting for these two to be on this list as seniors. They both have had wonderful careers here," Head coach Richie Grant said of the two players. "This honor is also a credit to how we have played as a team in the last two seasons."

The watch list consists of 34 players from across the country. At the end of the season, coaches in the NSCAA will vote to narrow the list of players up for the award from 30 to 15. From there, three finalists are selected and the winner is announced on Jan. 10, 2014.

More information about the award, including a video with the announcement of the Hermann Trophy Watch List, is available at: :



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist