Sherrod Repeats As C-USA Offensive Player of the Year
Go Tigers! Sherrod is one of four Tigers to receive postseason recognition on Tuesday
Go Tigers!
Sherrod is one of four Tigers to receive postseason recognition on Tuesday
Go Tigers!

Nov. 6, 2012

IRVING, Texas - Mark Sherrod repeated as Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year and three other Tigers received C-USA postseason honors, the league office announced on Tuesday.

Sherrod finished the regular season with 12 goals, four assists, and 28 points. Sherrod's 12 goals and 1.65 points per game each rank 17th in NCAA Division I, and his 12 goals is tied for second in C-USA. The junior notched two multi-goal games against No. 14 SMU and Tulsa, respectively. The Knoxville, Tenn., native is the first player in program history and second player in C-USA history to win the Offensive Player of the Year honor in back-to-back seasons.

Sherrod and teammate Liam Collins also took home All-CUSA first team honors for the second year in a row. Collins leads the Tigers with seven assists and is tied for third in assists and assists per game (.41) in C-USA. The Ireland native is second all-time in program history with 24 assists.

Defender Jordan Johnson received All-C-USA third team honors. The senior has started every match this season (17) and has tallied one goal, four assists, and six points. Playing at right fullback, Johnson has helped the Memphis defense limit opponents to 9.2 shots per game and record three shutouts.

Freshman midfielder Quincy Thomas was named to the C-USA All-Freshman Team. Thomas was inserted into the starting line-up in the fourth match of the season and has started every match since. In his first start, he recorded one goal and one assist as Memphis battled No. 23 Furman to a 2-2 draw.

Memphis begins play at the C-USA Men's Soccer Championship on Wednesday at 5 p.m. (CT), taking on Kentucky in their opening round match. For more information on the University of Memphis men's soccer program and all Tigers athletics, please visit

Conference USA Postseason Awards
Coach of the Year: Tim McClements, SMU

Players of the Year: Jaime Ibarra, SMU/Daniel Withrow, Marshall

Offensive Player of the Year: Mark Sherrod, Memphis

Defensive Player of the Year: Jaime Ibarra, SMU

Freshman of the Year: Cristian Mata, Tulsa

First Team
GK Daniel Withrow, Marshall
GK Jaime Ibarra, SMU
F Mark Sherrod, Memphis
F Cristian Mata, Tulsa
F Deshorn Brown, UCF
M Matt Lodge, Kentucky
M Liam Collins, Memphis
M Omar Mata, Tulsa
D Steven Perinovic, Kentucky
D Mladen Lemez, UAB
D Andrew Quintana, UCF

Second Team
GK Jack Van Arsdale, Kentucky
F Quentin Albrecht, FIU
F Tom Jackson, Marshall
F Tyler Engel, SMU
F Bradlee Baladez, South Carolina
F Kofi Gyawu, UAB
M Cameron Wilder, Kentucky
M T.J. Nelson, SMU
M Braeden Troyer, South Carolina
D Damien Rosales, SMU
D Aaron Simmons, SMU
D Darion Copeland, UAB
D Reed Matte, UAB
D Ben Hunt, UCF

Third Team
GK Mark Pais, Tulsa
F Tyler Riggs, Kentucky
M Daniel Gonzalez, FIU
M Devin Perkins, Marshall
M Andrew Morales, SMU
M Chase Wickham, UAB
M Fatai Alabi, UAB
M Omar Vallejo, UCF
D Joseph Dawkins, FIU
D Anthony Hobbs, FIU
D Dylan Asher, Kentucky
D Jordan Johnson, Memphis
D Mike Mangotic, South Carolina
D Tony Rocha, Tulsa

GK Robin Spiegel, FIU
F Cristian Mata, Tulsa
F Bryce Follensbee, Tulsa
F Karl Chester, UAB
F Ian Svantesson, UAB
M Daniel Gonzalez, FIU
M Quincy Thomas, Memphis
M John Lujano, SMU
D Jacob Speed, Kentucky
D Jack Hopkins, Marshall
D Michael King, SMU
D Bradley Bourgeois, Tulsa



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist