Men's Soccer Places Three on C-USA Second and Third Teams
Go Tigers!
Go Tigers!

Go Tigers!

Nov. 17, 2003

MEMPHIS, Tenn.-- - The University of Memphis had a trio of players to receive recognition from the league as sophomores Andy Metcalf and Dayton O'Brien were named All-C-USA Second Team performers, while senior captain Graham Gibbs earned Third Team All-conference honors.

Metcalf earns his second postseason award after a breakout sophomore season in which he led the Tigers in nearly every offensive category. The Jackson, Tenn. native paced Memphis with a team-high 24 points, 10 goals and four game-winning scores. He also compiled multi-goal performances on three occasions and earned Conference USA Player of the Week during the season.

O'Brien garners All-conference honors for the second consecutive year. The sophomore earned All-freshman recognition a year ago and followed that with a solid second season. O'Brien scored 23 points on nine goals and a team-high five assists. He led all Tigers with nine points and four goals in conference competition, including a two-goal performance against Marquette and the game-winning goal in a 1-0 win over UAB.

Gibbs earned Third-team honors for his solid play in the Memphis defense. The Dublin Ireland native bolstered the Tiger defense that recorded a pair of shutouts on the year. He started in 14 matches, including seven of eight conference games.

Cincinnati head coach Hylton Dayes was tabbed as the Coach of the Year after guiding the Bearcats, who were picked to finish third in the league, to a 6-2-1 C-USA record to earn a share of the regular season title with Saint Louis.

Cincinnati, Saint Louis, Louisville, Charlotte, UAB and USF battled it out last week in the C-USA tournament hosted by The University of Memphis at the Mike Rose Soccer Complex. Saint Louis came away as the league's champs for the fourth consecutive year, defeating Charlotte 5-4 in penalty kicks after playing to a 2-2 tie in regulation.

2003 C-USA Men's Soccer Awards

Player of the Year Coach of the Year Simon Bird, Sr., F, Louisville Hylton Dayes, Cincinnati

Co-Defensive of the Year Freshman of the Year Adrian Cann, Jr., D, Louisville Vedad Ibisevic, Fr., F, Saint Louis Tony McManus, Sr., D, UAB

First Team All-Conference Second-Team All-Conference USA F: Simon Bird, Sr., Louisville F: Will John, Fr., Saint Louis F: Chris Lee, Jr., Marquette F: Andy Metcalf, So., Memphis F: Vedad Ibisevic, Fr., Saint Louis F: Mira Mupier, Jr., Charlotte MF: Tim Brown, Sr., Cincinnati MF: John DiRaimondo, Fr., Saint Louis MF: Josh Gardner, Jr., Cincinnati MF: Brian Grazier, Fr., Saint Louis MF: Leandro de Oliveira, So., UAB MF: Floyd Franks, So., Charlotte MF: Marin Pusek, Sr., UAB MF: Dayton O'Brien, So., Memphis D: Adrian Cann, Jr., Louisville D: Brandon Dobbs, Sr., Cincinnati D: Nick Gannon, Sr., Saint Louis D: Anders Cedergren, Sr., Cincinnati D: Tony McManus, Sr., UAB D: Andy Pusateri, Sr., MF, Saint Louis GK: Brad Sokolowski, So., Louisville GK: Martin Hutton, Jr., Saint Louis

Third-Team All-Conference USA All-Freshman (No position restriction) F: Jerson Monteiro, Fr., UAB Vedad Ibisevic, Saint Louis F: Hunter West, So., USF John DiRaimondo, Saint Louis F: Derek Gutierrez, Sr., Marquette Will John, Saint Louis MF: Clyde Simms, Sr., East Carolina Brian Grazier, Saint Louis MF: Keeron Benito, Fr., USF Marco Terminesi, Louisville MF: Cooper McKee, So., Saint Louis Sam Miller, Cincinnati MF: Nnamdi Ngwe, Sr., UAB Chris Arnold, Charlotte D: Graham Gibbs, Sr., Memphis Jerson Monteiro, UAB D: Joe Lampert, Sr., Charlotte Keeron Benito, USF D: Matt Neely, So., Louisville Nathan Sabich, Marquette GK: John Adams, Sr., Cincinnati Kareem Smith, USF



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist