No. 21 Men's Tennis Unable to Hold on to Upset of No. 13 Mississippi State;
Go Tigers!
Go Tigers!

Go Tigers!

Jan. 26, 2014

Box Score


Memphis men's tennis huddle

The University of Memphis men's tennis team (1-1) almost pulled off a second upset in as many days, but fell at No. 13 Mississippi State, 4-2, in the Mississippi State pod championship in the ITA Kickoff Classic, Sunday.

Memphis jumped out to a 1-0 lead with wins at number two and three doubles. The team of Connor Glennon and Cedric De Zutter jumped out to a quick 5-0 lead and held after a break for the 6-2 victory at No. 2. Teammates Ian Chadwell and Johnny Grimal were right behind, closing out a 6-1 win over their own at No. 3 to seal the doubles point in the Tigers’ favor. The No. 1 team of David O’Hare and Joe Salisbury were leading 4-3 when the match was suspended with the doubles point decided.

In singles play, senior David O’Leary capped a perfect weekend with a 6-4, 6-3 win over Zach White at No. 4 singles, pushing the Tigers up 2-0, but that would be the last match to fall the Tigers’ way, as Mississippi State then won matches at No. 3, 1 and 2 to close out the victory and to advance to the ITA National Indoor Championship, Feb. 13-14th.

Memphis returns home to host a pair of non-conference matches, Friday, Jan. 31st. The Tigers will host Chattanooga, who is coming off a 4-2 win over Tennessee Tech, at 2 p.m. at The Racquet Club of Memphis. That match will be followed by a 7 p.m. match against Murray State, also at The Racquet Club. That will be the Tigers’ last home matches until March.

No. 13 Mississippi State 4, No. 21 Memphis 2

No. 1 – # 3 David O’Hare/Joe Salisbury (Memphis) vs. No. 52 Jordan Angus/Malte Stropp (MSU), 4-3, dnf
No. 2 – Connor Glennon/Cedric De Zutter (Memphis) def. Egbertg Weverink/Zach White (MSU), 6-2
No. 3 – Ian Chadwell/Johnny Grimal (Memphis) def. Florian Lakat/Tassilo Schmid (MSU), 6-1
No. 1 -- #63 Florian Lakat (MSU) def. #49 Connor Glennon (Memphis), 6-4, 6-5 (5)
No. 2 -- #39 Malte Stropp (MSU) def. #56 Joe Salisbury (Memphis), 6-5 (3), 6-5 (2)
No. 3 – Jordan Angus (MSU) def. #87 Johnny Grimal (Memphis), 6-2, 6-5 (2)
No. 4 – David O’Leary (Memphis) def. Zach White (MSU), 6-4, 6-3
No. 5 – Rishab Agarwal (MSU) def. Ian Chadwell (Memphis), 6-4, 6-3
No. 6 – David O’Hare (Memphis) vs. Tassilo Schmid (MSU), 6-4, 5-6 (4), 1-1, dnf



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist