Tigers Send Three Tennis Players to Region III Championships
Go Tigers!
Go Tigers!

Go Tigers!

Nov. 2, 2000

Athens, Georgia -- - Three members of the Tiger tennis team have qualified for the ITA Region III Championships that begin at the University of Georgia, Thursday. Juniors Richard Magney and Michael Chamberlain and sophomore Joe Schmulian will represent Memphis in the 96-player singles and 48-team doubles draw.

Schmulian will open his schedule, which includes both singles and doubles matches, against Max Fomine from Mississippi State at 11 a.m., Thursday. The winner of that match faces top seeded Matias Boeker from host Georgia. His doubles partner, Chamberlain, will also play in a singles match before opening doubles player. Chamberlain will play South Alabama's Evan Fowler at 9 a.m., Thursday, with the winner playing Georgia' s Bo Hodge at noon, Thursday.

That duo will begin play in the doubles tournament against the Alabama team of Belski/Susheel, Thursday, with the winner facing Georgia's Glenn/Leontis, Friday.

Richard Magney will begin his tournament against LSU's Sebastian Rutka at 10 a.m., Thursday. The winner advances to face Mississippi State's Jerome LeBelicard at 1 p.m., Thursday.

The ITA Regional Tournaments are used as a qualifying round for the Rolex ITA National Indoor Championships, Feb. 1-4, 2001, in Dallas, Texas. There are eight regional tournaments, with the Division III Regional traditionally being the strongest region in the country. Region III is comprised of 44 schools in the Southeast, including teams in Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, Tennessee and Kentucky. Ten of the 12 SEC teams are members of Region III as are six of the 12 C-USA schools.

This will be the final fall tournament on the Tigers' schedule. Memphis' spring season opens with an alumni match, Jan. 26th and their dual match schedule opens against UT-Martin, Feb. 3rd at the Wimbleton Sportsplex at noon.

Seeded Players
No. 1 Matias Boeker (Georgia)
No. 2 Alex Hartman (Mississippi)
No. 3 Mark Parson (w/d, Tennessee)
No. 4 Adam Carey (Tennessee)
No. 5 Peter Handoyo (Tennessee)
No. 6 Maxim Belski (Alabama)
No. 7 Georges Matjesvic (Auburn)
No. 8 Lesley Joseph (Georgia)
No. 9 Paul Pordbury (Tennssee)
No. 10 Tiago Ruffoni (Auburn)
No. 11 Ajay Ramaswami (LSU)
No. 12 Christian Thall (South Alabama)
No. 13 Tomas Smid (Miami)
No. 14 Mark Kovacs (Auburn)
No. 15 Nathan Overholser (Florida)
No. 16 Jason Ontog (UT-Chattanooga)
No. 17 Romain Ambert (Mississippi State)
No. 18 Edo Bowano (Kentucky)
No. 19 Eddie Coates (Vanderbilt)
No. 20 Andy Crews (Tennessee)
No. 21 Tom Dalby (UAB)
No. 22 Robert Gustaffson (Middle Tennessee)
No. 23 Bo Hodge (Georgia)
No. 24 Peter Hoffman (Miami)
No. 25 Daniel Klemetz (Middle Tennessee)
No. 26 Jerome LeBelicard (Mississippi State)
No. 27 Olivier Levant (Florida)
No. 28 Travis Parrott (Georgia)
No. 29 Julien Raynal (South Alabama)
No. 30 Kris Stahlberg (Mississippi)
No. 31 Brandon Wagner (Georgia)
No. 32 Jeremy Wurtzman (Florida)



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist