Julia Ignacio Heads to U-17 Women's World Cup in New Zealand
Go Tigers! Julia Ignacio
Go Tigers!
Julia Ignacio
Go Tigers!

Oct. 15, 2008

MEMPHIS, TENN. - The Canadian women's under-17 team has announced its final roster for the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in New Zealand. One of the players selected to the team is Julia Ignacio, a freshman forward for the University of Memphis women's soccer team.

"I think it's an unbelievable honor for Julia to be playing in a World Cup," said Memphis head coach Brooks Monaghan on having his player represent her home country at the international level. "Not only is it an honor for her though, but it's an honor for this program to have a player who is competing in the World Cup. It's well deserved for her. She has worked hard and this will be an experience that she is going to remember for the rest of her life."

Head coach Bryan Rosenfeld selected 21 players for the competition, which runs from Oct. 28 to Nov. 16.

"The selected players are very honoured and anxious to represent Canada. The FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup will be an excellent competition to enhance the development of the female game."

Ignacio has departed from the Memphis team this week as she travels with her native Canadian National squad to compete in this revered event.

"From the start, we supported her through all of this," said Monaghan of the Canadian team's selection process and the prospect of Ignacio leaving to compete for Canada. "It's tough to have her depart our team in the middle of the season, but at the end of the day, if any kid gets the opportunity to play for their national team, it is a chance of a lifetime. We have to let them go as coaches, and support our player 100 percent."

The U-17 Canadian National Team is in Group A of the round robin group stage matches and will face New Zealand on Oct. 28 at 7:00 p.m. (CST) and Colombia on Nov. 1 at 1:00 p.m. (CST), in Auckland, New Zealand. Then they will head to Hamilton, New Zealand on Nov. 4 at 7:00 p.m. (CST) to take on Denmark to round out its opening-round games of the tournament. The top two teams in each of the four first-round groups advance to the quarter-finals.



If Canada is one of the top two teams from Group A, they will play in stage two. The eight team single-elimination tournament stage begins on either Nov. 11 at either 7:00 p.m. or 10:00 p.m. (CST) in Wellington, New Zealand.

Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist