Memphis Places Three on All-Conference Teams
Go Tigers! Freshman Kimber Bossom was one of two Memphis players named to the 2008 C-USA All-Freshmen Team.
Go Tigers!
Freshman Kimber Bossom was one of two Memphis players named to the 2008 C-USA All-Freshmen Team.
Go Tigers!

May 7, 2008


For Immediate Release
Contact: Brandon Kolditz, (901) 871-5475

HOUSTON, Texas - Four members of the University of Memphis softball team were honored on Wednesday night at the Conference USA Championship banquet with three selected to all-conference teams.

Junior infielder Leila Dolfo was selected to the C-USA All-Conference second team, while pitcher Kimber Bossom and infielder Maddie McKinley were both named to the all-freshmen team. Senior Lindsay Kelso was selected to the C-USA All-Academic team.

For the second year in a row, Dolfo is named all-conference after earning first team honors last season. The Chula Vista, Calif., native leads the Tigers in nearly every offensive category and ranks in the top 10 in the conference in home runs with 11 and seventh all-time with 27 career dingers. On the year, the first baseman has 34 RBI and a season career-high 35 runs scored.

Memphis has placed a player on the all-freshmen team in each of its three years in existence. It is the second time the Tigers have had two freshmen on the team and first since their inaugural season in 2006.

Bossom led the team as its No. 1 starter and finished the regular season 10-15 with a 3.49 ERA. The RHP led the conference in fewest home runs allowed with three and did not give up a dinger during conference play. Bossom threw a no-hitter against Alabama A&M and had a on-hitter against Alcorn State. The Dayton, Texas, native tossed four shutouts and had one save with 101 strikeouts.



McKinley finished the year as a starter at third base and shortstop and has a .242 average with three home runs, 11 RBI and seven runs scored. The Chickamauga, Ga., native hit two home runs and had seven RBI in conference play. McKinley broke out against Southern Miss with five hits, five RBI and two runs scored. She has started 24 of the U of M's last 25 games.

Kelso is selected to the 11 member all-academic team for the second-straight year. The catcher/outfielder graduated last Saturday with a degree in accounting and plans to begin graduate school in the fall at Memphis. Sporting a 3.8 GPA, the Phoenix, Ariz., native is second on the team with eight home runs and is tied for the lead in doubles with 11.

Houston senior Angel Shamblin was named the C-USA Pitcher of the Year for the third-consecutive year and Marshall's senior catcher Rachel Folden was voted the Player of the Year for the second time. Houston head coach Kyla Holas was selected the Coach of the Year.

The ninth seeded Tigers open the C-USA Championship on Thursday morning at 9 a.m. against No. 8 UAB at the Cougar Softball Stadium. The winner will advance to play No. 1 Houston later that day at 5:30 p.m.

Conference USA Announces Softball All-Conference Awards

All-Conference USA First Team
C - Rachel Folden, Marshall
IF - Jessica Valis, Houston
IF - Jennifer Klinkert, Houston
IF - Breanne Javier, UCF
IF - Stacie Townsend, UTEP
OF - Laurie Wagner, Houston
OF - Samantha Rodriguez, Marshall
OF - Lauren Lindsay, Tulsa
UT - Camilla Carerra, UTEP
P - Angel Shamblin, Houston
P - Allison Kime, UCF

All-Conference USA Second Team
C - Elaina Nordstrom, Houston
IF - Christa Raley, Houston
IF - Leila Dolfo, Memphis
IF - Sara Dyer, Tulsa
IF - Amber Bennett, UTEP
OF - Katie Bush, Houston
OF - Rachel Sofie, Marshall
OF - Megan Hill, Southern Miss
UT - Lindsey Tower, Tulsa
P - Samantha Davis, Southern Miss
P - Jordan Kinard, Tulsa

All-Conference USA Freshman Team
Jennifer Klinkert, Houston
Melanie Stoehr, Marshall
Maddie McKinley, Memphis
Kimber Bossom, Memphis
Jordan Kinard, Tulsa
Kailey Chapman, Tulsa
Laura Callaway, UAB
Caley Walden, UAB
Tiffany Lane, UCF
Abby McCalin, UCF
Camilla Carerra, UTEP

Freshman of the Year
Jennifer Klinkert, OF, Houston

Co-Newcomers of the Year
Kelly Nielson, IF, Marshall
Marquita Council, UCF

Pitcher of the Year
Angel Shamblin, Houston

Player of the Year
Rachel Folden, Marshall

Coach of the Year
Kyla Holas, Houston

All-Academic Team
Cristen Aona, ECU
Charina Sumner, ECU
Katie Bush, Houston
Laurie Wagner, Houston
Rachel Folden, Marshall
Lindsay Kelso, Memphis
Sara Dyer, Tulsa
Holly Krzan, UAB
Cat Snapp, UCF
Ashley Van Ryn, UCF
Stacie Townsend, UTEP

Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist