Go Tigers!
Go Tigers!

Go Tigers!

April 26, 2000

Memphis, Tenn.-- - Two members of the Lady Tiger tennis team earned Conference USA honors, Monday.

Junior Christina Ladyman (Perth, West Australia), a two-time second team all conference member, was again named to the second team after finishing with a 15-7 singles record, and leading the team with a 14-7 record at No. 1 singles. The junior helped the No. 9 seeded Lady Tigers to a sixth-place finish at the league championships.

Ladyman, who finished the fall season with an 8-3 record, advanced to the main draw of the Southeast Regional in the fall. She won her opening match against Francie Barrigan of North Carolina State, 6-1, 6-2, before falling to Kathy Sell from Duke, 7-5, 6-2.

Freshman Sabrina Lindemann (Linz, Austria) earned third team all conference honors after finishing with a record of 12-11 in singles. Lindemann, who competed in the ITA Southeast Regional after posting a 10-4 record in fall tournaments, was 9-12 at No. 2 singles and teamed with Ladyman for a 7-7 record at No. 1 doubles during the spring.

At the Southeast Regional, Lindemann won both of her qualifying matches to advance to the main draw where she lost to Ioana Plesu of Duke, 6-1, 6-2.

First Team All-Conference

Mirela Vladulesco, UAB

Kara Molony, Cincinnati

Monika Schmid, UAB

Anna Monhartova, Tulane

Elisa Penalvo, Marquette

Kathrine Tessier, South Florida

Second Team All-Conference

Sara Fernandez, Marquette

Genivieve Houle, South Florida

Christina Ladyman, Memphis

Laura Taylor, DePaul

Barbara Fuzesi, DePaul

Tina Harrison, South Florida

Third Team All-Conference

Galina Seliounina, Houston

Sabrina Lindemann, Memphis

Laura Garcia, Marquette

Katie McLaughlin, Louisville

Maiko Cook, Tulane

Almut Gaude, Southern Miss

Most Valuable Players Mirela Vladulesco, UAB

Kara Molony, Cincinnati

Freshman of the Year

Szilvia Kelemen, DePaul

Coach of the Year

Mert Ertunga, UAB



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist