Courtney Collins Awarded C-USA Postgraduate Scholarship

C. Collins is one of 12 recipients of the Jim Castañeda Postgraduate Scholarship.

June 18, 2013

IRVING, Texas - Former University of Memphis women's tennis player Courtney Collins was one of 12 student-athletes from Conference USA to receive the league's Jim Castañeda Postgraduate Scholarship, C-USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced Tuesday.

This is the fifth year the award has been named for Dr. Castañeda, who served Rice University for 46 years as an educator, coach and Faculty Athletics Representative before he passed away in November 2008. The conference annually presents the $4,000 Postgraduate Scholarship awards to graduates as selected by the C-USA Faculty Athletics Representatives and approved by the Board of Directors.

Collins was a three-time C-USA All-Academic Team selection and was named the C-USA Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2012. She was also selected to the Commissioner's Honor Roll and named an Academic Medal winner all four years of her career. She is currently pursuing a master's degree in exercise and sports science, and has maintained a 3.69 GPA after her first year in the program.

"I feel completely blessed. It just shows that my hard work is paying off," Collins said. "I am so lucky to have coaches and professors to help push me to be the best I can be."

Collins finished her four-year career with a 95-44 singles record, which ranks second in the school record books for career singles victories. She became the first Lady Tiger to be ranked in singles and advance to the NCAA Championships with postseason trips during her junior and senior seasons. She was a C-USA First Team Singles pick from 2011-13, while garnering second team honors in 2010. In 2013, Collins helped Memphis receive an at-large berth into the program's first-ever NCAA Tournament before defeating Florida State, 4-1, in the first round.

2012-13 Jim Castañeda Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients
Hannah Lee, East Carolina, Women's Swimming
Ifeyinwa Stephanie Nwachukwa, Houston, Volleyball
Zachary Dylan Hunter, Marshall, Men's Soccer
Courtney Collins, Memphis, Women's Tennis
Lauren LaGro, Rice, Women's Soccer
Emily Carstens, SMU, Women's Rowing
Caitlin Leumas, Southern Miss, Women's Soccer
Candice St. Etienne, Tulane, Women's Track & Field
Cody Wilson, Tulsa, Football
Karl Moton, UAB, Men's Basketball
Kyle Cox, UCF, Men's Soccer
Carolina Camgro DeLuca, UTEP, Women's Tennis

Former Memphis Recipients
2012 - Parker Duncan, Men's Soccer
2011 - Janelle Valle, Softball
2010 - Rick Alleman, Men's Soccer
2009 - Kate Murphy, Women's Soccer



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist