Women's Tennis Hosts 10-Team Tournament This Weekend
Go Tigers!
Go Tigers!

Go Tigers!

Oct. 18, 2000

Memphis, Tenn. -- - The University of Memphis women's tennis team returns home to host the University of Memphis/Varsity Pro Shop Invitational this weekend, beginning Friday. Ten of the top women's teams in the Mid-South will participate in this weekend's tournament, including Arkansas-Little Rock, Arkansas State, Tennessee-Martin, Tennessee Tech, Austin Peay State and Murray State. Conference USA foe Saint Louis will also participate in this tournament, as will Southwest Missouri State and the University of Evansville.

The Lady Tigers come into the tournament off some impressive fall tournament finishes.

Senior Betsy Card won the Flight Three singles championship, Sunday, at Middle Tennessee State, while senior Christina Ladyman has advanced to the finals of both of the other two tournaments the Lady Tigers played in this fall.

Lady Tiger doubles teams have also posted some impressive performances. The team of Ladyman and sophomore Sabrina Lindemann lost in the finals at the Saint Louis Invitational two weeks ago, and then went 4-0 at the Southern Illinois-Carbondale Tournament a week later.

This year's tournament will be held at the Hutchinson School at 1740 Ridgeway Road due to the renovations of the tennis courts on the University of Memphis campus.

Singles play begins Friday with the championships being held Sunday at Hutchinson.


-- The Lady Tigers are a diverse group. They hail from Australia (Christina Ladyman), Sweden (Annika Westberg), New Zealand (Angie Wilkinson), England (Rebecca Garner), Austria (Sabrina Lindemann), Canada (Laura Hughes), India (Sumitra Rao) and the U.S. (Betsy Card).

-- No. 1 singles player Christina Ladyman is a second-generation Tiger. Her father, Henry, played for the Tiger Tennis team and was inducted into the M Club Hall of Fame in 1992.

--Head Coach Charlotte Peterson is a former Lady Tiger herself. Peterson played at the U of M, specializing in doubles, and has been at the helm of the Lady Tigers since 1975-76. Under her guidance, the Lady Tigers have finished second in the conference two times, in 1981-82 and again in 1992-93.

--Another Lady Tiger tennis player will be inducted into the M Club Hall of Fame this year. Annika Ewaldson, who owns the most career singles wins in school history, will be inducted into the M-Club Hall of Fame Nov. 8th.



Rotating image
Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Tumblr FourSquare Pintrist